Short, simple tips for making decisions and listening to your SOUL

soul

Listening to your gut.

Intuition. 

In order to make sound decisions, we have to quiet the monkey chatter in our heads and tap into our true, inner self. Residing deep within us all is a beacon of light, our soul, which we can use to guide us. Unfortunately, for a myriad of reasons, most of us spend a great deal of our lives ignoring or failing to recognize the truth we all have within. I guess what it comes down to is that sometimes it’s REALLY hard to trust yourself. It is essential we take the time to be at PEACE with ourselves, look deep within, and listen.

“When you want to do a big thing, get the mental pattern, make it perfect, know JUST what it means, ENLARGE your thought, keep it to yourself, pass it over to the creative power behind all things, wait and LISTEN, and when the impression comes, follow it with ASSURANCE. Don’t talk to anyone about it. Never listen to negative talk or pay attention to it and you will SUCCEED where all others fail.”

Ernest Holmes

4 thoughts on “Short, simple tips for making decisions and listening to your SOUL

  1. davecenker says:

    I sometimes think that my monkey chatter is louder than a zoo exhibit at feeding time 😉 Seriously though, these are simple yet profound insights that can really make us feel more comfortable with ourselves and help lead us down the path we are meant to follow. Thank you for the inspiring image and words. They go perfectly together!

    • Sara Ann says:

      Thanks so much for your comment and I’m glad this resonated with you!
      I too think the monkey chatter can get SO loud. Our subconscious can stream these thoughts uncontrollably, if we allow it. I find myself dealing with this differently everyday. Somedays it’s not as loud and I don’t have to ‘work’ on it, yet others, I need to.
      Daily, I try to leave my office 2-3 times a day for at least 5-10 minutes and sit outside and come back to a peaceful place, or go for a short walk and force the monkey chatter to go quiet but focusing on nature, the beauty in the present moment, etc.
      In this ‘modern world’ we live in, where we are bombarded with SO MUCH NOISE, getting our minds to be silent is one of the greatest gifts we possess.
      Thanks again for your comment!
      Love,
      Sara

      • davecenker says:

        I do the exact same thing. I take at least one walk per day (weather permitting) to clear the mind and stretch the muscles that seem to atrophy while sitting in front of a computer monitor 8 hours a day. Although the physical benefits in the form of daily exercise are important, I get so much more out of the mental exercise and cleansing that occurs on this rendezvous with nature. Thanks for sharing 😉

      • Sara Ann says:

        thats great! I too struggleed with having to sit at a desk, so I converted my desk to a standing desk by adding platforms under my monitor and keyboard. Helps me SO much! Enjoy your walk today!

Leave a Reply

